The Early Years

The Early Years

The Early Years is a two-part retrospective album series of Tom Waits songs, consisting of recordings made before Waits's actual debut album Closing Time. Volume One was released in 1991 and Volume Two was released in 1993 on Bizarre/Straight. The recordings were made between July and December 1971. Some of the songs on the album appear on the early albums Waits recorded for Asylum Records.

Both volumes were released on vinyl in 2010 by Manifesto Records.


A1 Goin' Down Slow 2:48
A2 Poncho's Lament 4:17
A3 I'm Your Late Night Evening Prostitute 3:16
A4 Had Me A Girl 5:32
A5 Ice Cream Man 3:12
A6 Rockin' Chair 3:15
B1 Virginia Ave. 2:41
B2 Midnight Lullabye 3:37
B3 When You Ain't Got Nobody 3:24
B4 Little Trip To Heaven 3:01
B5 Frank's Song 1:56
B6 Looks Like I'm Up Shit Creek Again 3:03
B7 So Long I'll See Ya 3:31


The Early Years, Vol. 1

Find Vinyl Records Online
Search Shopping Cart Pitch Video