Physical Graffiti

Physical Graffiti

Physical Graffiti is the sixth studio album by the English rock band Led Zeppelin. It was released as a double album on 24 February 1975 by the group's new record label, Swan Song Records.

The band wrote and recorded eight new songs for the album in early 1974 at Headley Grange, a country house in Hampshire, which gave them ample time to improvise arrangements and experiment with recording. The total playing time covered slightly over two sides of an LP (52 minutes) so they decided to expand it into a double by including previously unreleased tracks from the sessions for the earlier albums Led Zeppelin III, Led Zeppelin IV and Houses of the Holy. The album covered a range of styles including hard rock, progressive rock, rock 'n' roll and folk. The album was then mixed over summer 1974 and planned for an end-of year release. It was delayed because of the sleeve, which was designed by Peter Corriston and featured a theme around a tenement block in Manhattan, New York.

Other than the jam "Boogie With Stu", which features former Rolling Stones pianist Ian Stewart, the band provided all instrumentation and vocals themselves, being Robert Plant (vocals, harmonica), Jimmy Page (guitar), John Paul Jones (bass, keyboards), and John Bonham (drums). The album was produced by Jimmy Page, with the help of a number of different engineers and mixers.

Physical Graffiti was commercially and critically successful upon its release and debuted at number one on album charts in both the US and the UK. It was promoted by a successful US tour and a five-night residency at Earl's Court, London, and has since been viewed as one of the group's strongest albums and the artistic peak of their career. The album has been reissued on CD several times, including an expansive 40th anniversary edition in 2015. Physical Graffiti was later certified 16× platinum in the United States by the Recording Industry Association of America (RIAA) in 2006, signifying shipments of over eight million copies.

Among the best known songs from the album are "In My Time of Dying", a reworking of a traditional gospel song and regular concert favorite, "Kashmir", one of the band's most recognized hard rock numbers and a favorite of classic rock radio, and "Trampled Under Foot", a US top-40 hit.


  Lps 1 & 2: Original Album
A1 Custard Pie 4:15
A2 The Rover 5:39
A3 In My Time Of Dying 11:08
B1 Houses Of The Holy 4:04
B2 Trampled Under Foot 5:36
B3 Kashmir 8:37
C1 In The Light 8:47
C2 Bron-Yr-Aur 2:06
C3 Down By The Seaside 5:15
C4 Ten Years Gone 6:34
D1 Night Flight 3:38
D2 The Wanton Song 4:08
D3 Boogie With Stu 3:52
D4 Black Country Woman 4:24
D5 Sick Again 4:42
  LP3: Companion Audio
E1 Brandy & Coke (Trampled Under Foot) (Initial Rough Mix) 5:38
E2 Sick Again (Early Version) 2:20
E3 In My Time Of Dying (Initial Rough Mix) 10:45
F1 Houses Of The Holy (Rough Mix With Overdubs) 3:51
F2 Everybody Makes It Through (In The Light) (Early Version/In Transit) 6:27
F3 Boogie With Stu (Sunset Sound Mix) 3:36
F4 Driving Through Kashmir (Kashmir) (Rough Orchestra Mix) 8:33


Physical Graffiti - Deluxe Edition

Find Vinyl Records Online
Search Shopping Cart Pitch Video